The Kurdistan Region is an autonomous region in Federal Iraq. The Kurdistan Region currently comprises the three governorates of Erbil, Suleimaniah and Duhok. It borders Syria to the west, Iran to the east and Turkey to the north, where fertile plains meet the Zagros Mountains.

The Tigris, Greater Zab and Lesser Zab rivers traverse the Region. The mountains of the Kurdistan Region have an average height of about 2,400 metres, rising to 3,000- 3,300 metres in places. The highest peak, Halgurd, is near the border with Iran and measures just under 4,000 metres. The highest mountain ridges contain the only forestland in the Region.

On the craggy slopes of the Kurdistan Region, you will find trees, birds and wild goats. On the mountain ridges grow small oaks, junipers and mountain herbs. Poplars grow in the stream valleys and eucalyptus can be found in watered areas on the plains. A wide variety of rare birds can be seen year round in many areas of the Kurdistan Region.

Area: 40,643 square kilometers
Population: Over 5.2 million
Capital city: Erbil (also known as Hewler)